Michelle Cawthorn selected as finalist for inaugural Splash McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award

Congratulations to Michelle Cawthorn for being selected as a finalist for the 2018 inaugural Splash McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award at McClelland Sculpture Park and Gallery in Victoria.

Held every three years, the inaugural $30,000 Splash: McClelland Contemporary Watercolour Award has been established to showcase Australian artists who work in the medium of watercolour. It is an acquisitive award enabled by the Fornari Bequest, by the Will of the late Lena May Fornari, and is a legacy of her support of the arts in Victoria. Lena May was an ardent collector of watercolours and the first acquisitions through this Bequest were significant watercolour paintings. Continuing this tradition, Splash presents the work of contemporary Australian artists who use this medium in highly accomplished and innovative ways:

The Award will be judged by Linda Michael, independent curator and editor, with one highly commended work judged by Samantha Comte, Curator, The Ian Potter Museum of Art, University of Melbourne.
Golden Hole – (left) – 1000 + extra ball 2018
pen, watercolour, graphite, white gouache, liquid graphite, indian ink, acrylic on paper
79 x 79cm
Exhibition dates
1 December 2018 to 17 March 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *